Dystonic thought pathway – A Journey to Well Being

This current mental focus on my physical dysfunction, is not helping me maintain my Well Being



broken

 

I am maintaining my Well Being, however I am having to do more work than normal, at the moment.

Whereas previously, through practice, it wasn’t requiring any great conscious effort  on my part

 

A decision made

To try to focus only on the Spiritual journey

 

…and let go of the physical one

The journey of the body

The vehicle

 

…and while I am already doing that, ad hoc

I am choosing to do that more consciously

 

I have developed a new thought pathway for myself

Neural1

 

A  new story that reminds me that nothing has really changed…..

I Am Still Here

 Still, the Jacqueline who is:

  •  Kind and tolerant
  • Peaceful and wise
  • Centred and whole
  • Powerful and boundless

 

I am going to use my new story to help me see myself as ‘not broken’ and help manage my guilt

The non helpful guilt I experience, because I am unable to have the physical workload that I used to

….and then the endless interrogation about whether I am doing ‘enough’

Whether I am trying hard enough

 

 

A new thought pathway

A thinking journey, that will allow me to come to a new conclusion about myself

A conclusion that will replace the current one

That my body is broken and everything is hard

A new conclusion that will restore the faith I have lost, in my bodies ability to heal itself

A conclusion that will remind me that the human body is

self-healing – self-perpetuating – self creating – self perfecting


So from here on, every time I find myself noticing a physical symptom:

I will:

  • recognise that my body is just doing its thing to heal and realign itself
  • see that my wonderful body is trying to re centre itself
  • re think the symptom/feeling with my new thought pathway,
  • refocus my attention onto something more conducive to my Well Being and just let my precious vehicle do its thing

 

Something like this

“ruminate, ruminate, ruminate, I feel bad in this way, I  feel bad in this way, I have pain, I feel sick”

Become aware of the current non-helpful thought pathway.

Introduce new thought

“Ah, remember Jacqueline, You are going to focus on the spiritual journey. These feelings are your miraculous body trying to heal itself.”

Then, use a refocus tool such as:

  • Being present
  • Appreciation 

Remembering that I am self-healing – self perpetuating – self creating – self perfecting 


a simple  process, you can do at any time

  • Create the new thought pathway. One that speaks of where you are going, not where you are
  • Develop awareness of thoughts that speak to you of ‘broken, hurt, non healing’ (regardless of cause)
  • Say to yourself a short sentence such as “Remember you are going to focus on the spiritual journey” (this is working for me at the moment, but I will re-mold that sentence if I need to)
  • Use a refocus tool 

 

 

By replacing my thinking and retraining my brain it will help me accomplish a number of things

  • It will write a new thought pathway in my brain
  • It will in a short space of time replace the broken thoughts, with a new story
  • It will help break the rumination cycle
  • It will help me change my perception of the symptom
  • It will help me re develop trust of my body
  • It will help replace the guilty feeling that I am failing, in some bizarre way

Through practice, I can retrain my thinking to go down the new pathway

 

neural2

One that helps me redefine or refocus this experience as a spiritual one

A spiritual gift

Neural

 

….and while all of that may do nothing to change my Dystonia, it will change my perception, my feelings, my experience of the journey

 

With Love

Jacqueline

 

Coloured Buttons – An online coaching course to make long term recovery from depression is on holiday until 2015

